1st Anniversary

13 Feb

Today is big.

Enormous actually.

It is my 1 year Blog anniversary.

WordPress even sent me a congratulations message.

The one from the Queen must have got lost in the post.

I have sewn, grown, baked, boiled, spray painted, upcycled and charity shopped my way through the last twelve months.

I have accidentally started a craft group which has evolved into a leaderless, hapless band of women brandishing various crafting tools and having a crack at, well anything. As long as there is tea, cake, or something stronger involved.

So what is next for me?

World domination of course. But that still needs work, so in the mean time it will be more of the same.

This week I have been mostly free range crocheting. Basically making it up as I go along.

I can’t follow patterns or instructions. They make me anxious and twitchy, so I have just been sitting in front of the TV in the evening and experimenting, unraveling and starting again.

I’ll probably unravel this effort later.

wpid-20140213_114005.jpg

You never know though, by my 2nd anniversary I may have created a very cackhanded blanket of which I will be unspeakably proud of.

I have a list of projects to tick off my to do list and my thinking is that if I commit them to a blog post they will be more likely to get done.

  1. Spruce up the drawers and the wardrobes in the children’s rooms. I have lace and spray paint in mind for the Livster’s room and different coloured drawers and nobs for The Bo
  2. Upcycle The Bo’s desk chair/old dining chair. I am thinking white or blue eggshell with a nice cushion (I’ve gone all Lawrence Llewlyn-Bowen)
  3. I have an unloved dressing table that needs a new lease of life and some uplifting colour.
  4. I want to do more foraging later this year but on top of fruits I want to have a go at some elder flower recipes and also some rosehip recipes
  5. It is really about time I had a got at making curtains (Mum if your reading this brace yourself).
  6. I would like to get have a go at putting up shelving (straight).
  7. I have some beautiful plates and a couple of vintage handbags that needs some ingenious ideas for displaying. I may steal Mrs H’s clever plate display idea.
  8. To upcycle some more old bedding. In the whole of last year that was the project that I was most proud of.

No doubt I will get side tracked along the way, but I think this is enough to be getting on with for now.

Thanks to everyone who has stopped by this year and thanks for all your lovely comments. I really love all the feedback.

So Cheers! All the Best! Chin Chin!

And here’s to the next twelve months xx

4 Responses to “1st Anniversary”

  1. craftsonsea February 13, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    Whoop! Happy birthday 🙂

  2. paula watson February 13, 2014 at 2:18 pm #

    We so enjoy reading your blog on this side of the pond……congrats on your lst Anniversary and long may you be blogging!!!

  3. Clare Philpott February 13, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    Yes Mrs B I have read your blog and am now bracing myself!! Mum xx

  4. vickymyerscreations February 14, 2014 at 8:09 am #

    Yeah!! Congrats, looking forward to the next year:)

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

upcycling, sewing, crafting, with a care for the precious world we live in

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

