Guest Post – Low carb/Sugar-free Cheesecake

4 Feb

Todays guest post comes to you from fellow blogger and school run comrade Lowcarbdaddy. He will be talking us through a low carb, sugar-free cheesecake.

What’s not to like?

Thankyou so much for your contribution Scott.

Over to you.

Firstly, I would like to thank Hannah for allowing me to post my recipe, or guest blog as its known…   My name is Scot Lester AKA “Lowcarbdaddy” I attempt to bake/make all my favorite foods and cakes using no flour and no sugar, e.g. low carb and sugar-free.

I was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with Type 2 Diabetes which has led me to change my diet to a low carb sugar-free one, as after constant testing my blood sugars after eating various foods, it has highlighted the fact that foods with Carbohydrates and “sugars” do not agree with me and cause my blood sugars to raise significantly up to a dangerous level.  Now that I avoid 90% of carbs my blood sugars are very stable to that of a non diabetic.  This is mainly because 99% of carbohydrates are sugars.

Now I feel this is important not only to people who are diabetic but to everyone, nearly all foods contain carbohydrates especially processed foods and low-fat products and I want to make sure that everyone understands what impact carbohydrates has on your body.

To that end I am sharing my recipe for a Low Carb/Sugar Free cheesecake which tastes amazing and everyone who has tried it prefers it to the “normal” ones. I would like to point out that this recipe does contain high fat and therefore is high in calories.  I will explain this…..  Anyone on a Low carb diet needs to still have energy, in  order to get this without eating carbs you have to consume fat, mind you these should be good fats which will give you good cholesterol (HDL) and not bad fats which will cause bad cholesterol (LDL) , this is what never gets explained to you at the Docs.  I have better than average Cholesterol, Blood Pressure and Blood Glucose by following this diet and have lost 2 stone within 3 months of swapping my diet.

Your body needs good cholesterol (HDL) see here.

If you do eat carbohydrates, then this recipe would be a treat like any other treat as you would then be eating carbohydrates and fat which should not really mix, but a 1 off is OK :o).

Here are a few simple store cupboard essentials you should have to follow a low carb diet:  (you can find most of these and the other ingredients in a good health shop, the independent ones are better.

  • Almond Flour
  • Coconut Flour
  • Xylitol (Natural sweetener – carb free – like for like sugar use
  • Coconut Oil – Raw
  • Real Butter
  • Double Cream
  • Liquid Stevia

Here is the Recipe for the Vanilla Cheesecake, you can add a lemon flavoring if you like a lemon Cheesecake.

Ingredients
  • 125 grams Almond Flour (finely ground almonds)
  • 50 grams Desiccated Coconut
  • 50 grams Butter
  • 2 tablespoon(s) Vanilla Extract (depending on taste)
  • 300 grams Philadelphia Cream Cheese
  • 50 grams sweetener (xylitol)
  • 2 tablespoon(s) sweetener (xylitol)
  • 2 teaspoon(s) Liquid Stevia
  • 1.5 cup(s) Double Cream
Method
  1. Mix almond flour, desiccated coconut, 50g of sweetener together, melt butter and add, mix well.
  2. Line a pop bottom 8 or 9″ tin with baking sheet at the bottom and sides.
  3. Press mix into bottom of tin and press down firmly to create the “biscuit base”.
  4. Baked for 15-20 minutes until a little golden.
  5. Leave to go very cold, put in fridge.
  6. Mix cream cheese with 2 tbsp of Sweetener, liquid stevia, vanilla extract until smooth.
  7. In a separate bowl whisk double cream until soft peaks, add whipped cream to cream cheese mix and beat well to mix all together.
  8. Spoon mixture into the cold tin base mixture and press lightly into edges until all base is covered.
  9. Put in fridge for a good few hours (more the better).
  10. Eat and enjoy.

I hope you enjoy making this cheesecake, it’s now my favorite thing to eat without feeling I have been bad.  If you want to print this recipe off in an easy format you can get a printable card from my blog www.lowcarbdaddy.com.

I am posting new recipes slowly on my blog, so please have a look for some more soon.

www.lowcarbdaddy.com
Facebook/lowcarbdaddy

I also own and run a Diabetes support website which has more recipes on and lots of Low Carb talk.

www.diabetessupportforum.org

Thank you to Hannah for allowing me to share my recipe.

Scot Lester

AKA – Lowcarbdaddy

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

