It’s Just an Occasional Thing….

21 Jan

Annie Sloan paint is quite pricey.

I have been a bit nervous of buying it and then messing up, but today I took the plunge and picked up a tester pot.

026

I thought I would give my occasional table a much-needed makeover and it was a small enough project to test the Sloany stuff.

017

Having got some advice from the lovely Tamsin at Eddie and Pearl and a man in overalls, I got started as soon as I got home.

A little bit goes a long way.  I watered it down to a single cream consistency and it was very quick drying, particularly when you blast it with the hair dryer.

031

After I had given it two coats and allowed it to dry I used a clean cloth to rub in some clear wax. I didn’t buy the Sloan brand,  just a generic clear wax at a fraction of the price and it did a beautiful job.

The table need something extra.

I had a dribble of black board paint that had been given to me for a project that I neither started nor finished. I decided that this would be perfect for the central disk in the table.

043

I can write a little message on the table now.  The question is what should it be??

 

 

12 Responses to “It’s Just an Occasional Thing….”

  1. craftsonsea January 21, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

    I’ve been painting a coffee table for my front room today in Annie Sloan paints! Love them! Your table looks gorgeous 🙂

  2. Ladybird Lab January 24, 2014 at 7:07 am #

    Lovely! What a transformation! :o) Tasneem xxx

    • hannahblythin January 24, 2014 at 7:34 pm #

      Aww thanks 🙂 looking forward to your guest post.

      • Ladybird Lab January 27, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

        My sister, Alefiyah said that she will get in touch with you later this week about the guest post :o) Tasneem xxx

      • hannahblythin January 27, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

        Great. I’m very much looking forward to it 🙂

      • Ladybird Lab January 31, 2014 at 10:55 am #

        Hi Hannah

        We are just putting the finishing touches to our guest blog. It’s in a word document at the moment as we’ve included some photos. Will it possible to have your email address?

        Thanks Hannah.

        Tasneem

      • Ladybird Lab January 31, 2014 at 7:30 pm #

        Hi Hannah

        We have finished drafting the guest blog post. It’s in a word document at the moment as we’ve included some photos. Will it possible to have your email address to send it to you for you to check over?

        Thanks Hannah.

        Tasneem & Alefiyah

  3. Louisa April 15, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    You table looks amazing. I have never used chalk paints but I hope to in the near future for some furniture upcycling #pintorials

    • hannahblythin May 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

      It came out better than I had expected. Give it a go x

  4. Alice Megan April 18, 2014 at 4:47 pm #

    This is lovely! Gorgeously upcycled it looks brand new

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

