Tea Cup Candle

16 Dec

I found this rather attractive cup and saucer a few months ago and picked it up for pennies.

wpid-storageextSdCardDCIMCamera2013-11-28-18.25.10.jpg.jpg

My plan was to make a candle with it, but as always it sat gathering dust whilst I mustered the time and the inclination to buy the stuff that I needed.

Mum and Dad had been sorting through the loft recently and this inevitably means that I get dumped with stuff that don’t want and will never use.

In the past I have been presented with in line roller skates from when I was 12, a calligraphy set where the inks had dried out and the nibs were bent and loads of A level art books, paintings and sheafs of paper that send my husband apoplectic and a bit Wicker Man.

This time though she actually found something I needed.

My old candle making kit. Every child should have one 😉

wpid-IMG_20131128_182211.jpg

Not only was it full of wax beads and wick but it was full of old candles that I had obviously planned to recycle in the future (though I probably was not thinking 20 years in the future).

Because I am too lazy to bother with instructions and clearly arrogant  enough to think that I can do it without help, I just made it up as I went along. And it shows.

I took a cheese grater to the old candle of choice (blood-red of course) and grated the wax into a bowl. Having done this I made put the bowl over a pan of hot water and let it melt town to molten lava.

wpid-IMG_20131128_190200.jpg

This is where it all started to go a bit pear-shaped. I decided that sticking a blob of melted wax would be enough to hold town the end the end of the wick to the bottom of the cup.

I hadn’t really thought this through. As soon as I poured hot wax into the cup it melted (obviously) the wax blob and I lost my wick, quite literally. Cue me poking around with then end of a spoon to try to re-stick it.

I eventually botched it back into position and tied the loose end around a spoon to keep the wick straight.

wpid-IMG_20131128_191308.jpg

Once again impatience and an inability to stop fiddling got the better of me and I released the wick too soon, resulting in a sunken middle.

wpid-20131215_095011.jpg

And because I hadn’t practised first, my poor sister in-law got a truly sub-standard birthday present.

Sorry Sis, hope the pretty lunch bag made up for it x

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

