Upcycled Desk

26 Sep

Sometimes your next project is right there on your doorstep.

Or in my case the neighbours doorstep.

On Sunday we came back from the scarecrow festival to see the our neighbour was having a clear out. She had put a few bits of furniture in the front garden, with a note saying Free, Please take.

Well I don’t need to be asked twice!

I have been thinking about getting a desk for The Bo’s room, and there right before my eyes was a tired looking but perfect pine desk.

007

Into the house it went.

I asked the Bo what colour he would like me to paint it and predictably he said fire engine red. So there wasn’t going to be too much faffing in B&Q over colour swatches.

The weather has been amazing so I took the opportunity to get on my overalls old maternity dungarees and get cracking.

A quick sand and a coat of primer later I was ready to break out the red paint. Only this time I thought I would give a can of spray paint a go.

Resisting the urge to go to my nearest abandoned train depot and scrawl I Luv Charity shops  🙂 everywhere, I went in search of a face  mask.

Being sure we had one somewhere,  I picked up what looked like the right thing, only to realise it was my husbands cricket box.

I decided to take my chances without a mask (or a box).

Pretty much doing a jig as I shook the aerosol can and spraying with fairly wild abandon I thoroughly enjoyed this upcycle project.

009

012

All in all it cost me £10.96 for the sandpaper and the spray paint. Bargain desk for The Bo!

The only downside to spraying is that it is all over far too quickly 😉

Now what can I spray next? Off to the railway it is then.

5 Responses to “Upcycled Desk”

  1. vickymyerscreations September 27, 2013 at 8:38 am #

    What a great find, and beautifully upcycled:)

    • hannahblythin September 27, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      I know. I couldn’t believe my luck! Quite pleased with how it has turned out 🙂

  2. AffordableLiving September 27, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    It looks lovely as well. Luckily your neighbours could not see its potential, otherwise you might have missed out. But I simply love upcycled furniture.

    • hannahblythin September 27, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      Me too. It makes me happy to see something given a new lease of life.

  3. hodgepodgecraft February 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm #

    What a brilliant job you did – it looks fabulous!
    Thanks for sharing at #Pintorials 🙂

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

