Thanks for Helping Me Grow Miss!

21 Jul

Wow!! The Bo is coming to the end of his first year at school. The time has just flown by, but when I look his progress since September I find it incredible. He has worked so hard this year and his work has really reflected this. It amazes me how children are such little sponges at this age.

Liv is now on the verge of a new phase of life. She finished Pre-school today and Liv being Liv was completely un-moved by the crying teachers, school friends and parents. She just wanted to know what was for lunch. Ooh she is a hard woman!

So it was time to think about pressies for much-loved teachers.

Mooching around my local charity shops I found these lovely little baskets for £1 each. I snapped them up and tripped off home to pimp them up.

Down in the DIY dungeon that is my cellar I found some left over paint from my Bureau makeover. It’s a lovely duck egg blue which was perfect for sprucing up these little wicker bargains.

Baskets

For Pre-School teacher I pulled together, sweeties, homemade strawberry jam and handmade soap (not made by me) and popped them into the basket. Liv made a card a beautiful card and I made a label from an old birthday card on which I wrote a little not saying “Thanks for helping me grow”. I threw in a few home-grown peas from the garden for good measure.

Jo's Basket

For the Bo. He insisted that he wanted me to make bunting for his teacher. Time was at a premium so in true Blue Peter style I found some that I had made earlier, then added some other little goodies to the basket. Done!

Speaking of homemade pressies. Some lovely friends of ours had their little boy Christened today. The gift was a no brainer as Mrs G had tweeted me to say how much she liked my upcycled bedding, after reading my post. So one Navy piece of ribbon and a card later and we were good to go. I hope it is not too disappointing when they see it in the flesh!

025

3 Responses to “Thanks for Helping Me Grow Miss!”

  1. mrsbusyg July 21, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

    We ABSOLUTELY LOVE the gift! It looks even better in the flesh! Thank you so much Mrs B! Such a lovely gift and even better that it was made by you! We’ve had a great day! Thank you got coming! Xxx

    • hannahblythin July 21, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

      It was a lovely day. Thanks for inviting us 🙂

      It’s always a pleasure to see old friends. Xxx

  2. vickymyerscreations July 22, 2013 at 7:04 am #

    I love how the paint has transformed the basket:) Great gifts, still procrastinating in our house!!!

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

