Son. You Are Not A Steiff Bear!

8 Jul

Small people.

Why do they do it?

Small nostrils. Small ear holes. What is the attraction of putting things in them? Buttons, pastry, pom poms, stones, berries, tiny animals.

I have to admit that I have been very smug.  I have a close friend whose little one is a serial shover of foreign objects in holes in the head. I though I had got away with it.

It seems my son was just saving it up. He is my sensible one, or so I thought, which made it all the more difficult to get my head round when he told me  he had put a button in his ear.

I have buttons and other making parafinalia all around the house and have never really worried about it. He is 5 so, you know,  I thought I was past the stage for worrying about choking and shoving. Clearly not.

His aunty Lu pointed out. Only Steiffe bears should have a button in the ear.

So we spent two hours in the walk in centre, to be told that they couldn’t get it out. I would have to go to A&E in the morning.

I went to A&E in the morning where the nurse attempted to send me back to the walk in centre.

I was having none of it and so the doctor came and had a look. He said he couldn’t get it out either and referred us to ENT but we would have to wait two days.

At ENT the Doctor was lovely (and handsome, not that I was looking) , but he couldn’t get it out either.

Now we are waiting for an appointment for him to go under general anaesthetic to have it removed. Such fun.

All the while The Bo seemed wholly unaffected by the situation. Which is good.

I just hope he doesn’t do it again!!

2 Responses to “Son. You Are Not A Steiff Bear!”

  1. Paula Watson July 8, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    Hannah, I kinda know what you are going thru, many years ago John swallow a light bulb, yes that’s right a light bulb…..they called me at work and I said can you repeat that……it turns out it was a small light bulb from a pen, not the electrical bulb. Non the less we rushed to the doctors to have X-rays and sure enough there is a light bulb floating around in the tummy. We were told to wait and let nature take its’ course, what fun that was checking every poop for a light bulb. found it eventually…….what fun……..what memories.

    • hannahblythin July 8, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      A Bulb?! Oh my goodness. At least it came out of it’s own accord. Unfortunately there is an ear drum in the way for The Bo.

      It will make a good story to mortify him in the future 😉

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

upcycling, sewing, crafting, with a care for the precious world we live in

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

