Flower Arrangement Shopper

4 Jun

I got The Gentle Art of Stitching by Jane Brocket for Christmas and I absolutely love it. It has got lots of pretty hand stitching projects with beautiful pictures to get the creative juices flowing.

I had a flick through and found some very simple fabric flower arrangements using scraps of fabric. So I decided to give it a go.

I started by raiding my fabric box. I try never to buy fabric as it is so expensive, so use old clothing and fabrics from bedding and curtains. Really whatever I can get my hands on. I found an old dress that I wore when I was pregnant with both my children. It was a bold flower print, with lots of bright colours. So I got snipping, cutting out some of the boldest flowers. I wasn’t too precious about how I cut them out as I wanted it to look fairly organic. I found a piece of yellow gingham which I decided to use for the vase. Once I had cut out and chosen all my pieces, I arranged them onto a piece of pink fabric and pinned them.

2013-05-09 19.02.49

 

I used some very simple running stitches and blanket stitches to attach the flowers and vase to the fabric.

2013-05-10 16.43.29

When I stood back I realised that it needed something extra, so I added a couple of Suffolk puffs to the arrangement, plus a few buttons and a scrap of ribbon to decorate the vase. This added a further element to texture and depth to the arrangement.

2013-05-10 16.43.39

 

A little tip for stopping your ribbon from fraying at the ends is to very carefully waft a flame from a lighter or match at the ends and this will meld the fibres together.

Jane Brocket frames her flower arrangements but I wanted to make something a little more useful with mine, so I decided to use it to decorate a shopper.

rummaging around in my fabric box again I found some fab stripey fabric from Ikea that was left over from some blinds I had made last year. I roughly zig zag stitched my arrangement onto the front bag panel and then assembled it all. And this is how it came out!

2013-05-15 12.21.43

2013-05-15 18.14.40

 

 

I am making all of my birthday and Christmas presents this year, so I think that this will be going in my pressie pile

6 Responses to “Flower Arrangement Shopper”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode June 4, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

    Wow . . . I LOVE that!!! 🙂

    • hannahblythin June 4, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂 It was a really quick and easy make. The type of makes I like.

  2. Kate @craftsonsea June 4, 2013 at 6:47 pm #

    Gorgeous! But also you don’t buy fabric??! Uh ohhh…I’m pretty much on a restraining order from my local shop ;o)

    • hannahblythin June 4, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      Lol!!

      I have a box full of old clothing and fabric so I will not allow myself to buy new until I have used what I have.

  3. Emma June 6, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

    I particularly like the rosette shapes you’ve added – oh and I love your blog tag line 🙂

    • hannahblythin June 6, 2013 at 6:26 pm #

      Thankyou. Those Suffolk puffs are really easy to do. As for the tag line, it means that I have plenty of scope to write about lots of different things. I didn’t want to pigeon hole myself too much.

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

