Vintage Map Re-Purposed

17 May

2013-05-17 16.57.44

Dad’s favourite place to be is Snowdonia. My favourite place to be is Snowdonia.

It is its wild beauty, remoteness and unforgiving landscape that won my heart before I could even talk.

We always went there for our holidays and even as a child, I can remember as we would drive across the border all my anxieties would just melt away.

In the middle of nowhere we could just be ourselves. I never worried about what I was wearing or what other people might be saying or thinking.

We had so much more freedom, running around like feral children across the ancient slag heaps, exploring old ruined farmhouses and factories. Spending hour upon hour in the stream fishing, skimming and building dams.

All actually really dangerous, but we just loved it. It is the only part of the world where I feel completely comfortable in my own skin.

Over years I have gone there when I needed to recuperate and to take stock. I return feeling cleansed and re-invigorated.

I have never asked him but I think those things are why Dad loves it too.

So when I found a 1966 vintage ordnance survey map of Snowdonia on a flee market, I just had to get it.

I’ve had it for a few weeks now but couldn’t quite decide what i was going to do with it. I knew in some way or another it would be Dad’s Christmas present.

In the end I just decided to simply frame the beloved area.

2013-05-17 17.37.01

I had plenty of map left over so I decided to pick out a few other favourite places and Mod Podge them to these lovely wooden coasters.

2013-05-17 16.50.232013-05-17 17.39.22

I think I might somehow string these together so that they can be hung one above the other on the wall.

So the map cost me £2.99, the coasters cost £1.99 and the rest of the stuff I already had. I think this makes a pretty thrifty but very personal gift. Hope he likes it.

4 Responses to “Vintage Map Re-Purposed”

  1. Kate @craftsonsea May 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

    Love these. Just love them 🙂

  2. pirateskies May 21, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    I’ve got a soft spot for vintage maps, very much like what you’ve done with it! Have you made the coasters waterproof?

    • hannahblythin May 21, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

      Thankyou.
      I am thinking of stringing them together so that they can be hung up on the wall, but if I was going to use them as coasters I think I would give them a coat of clear varnish for extra protection.

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

