Something Old to Something New.Upcycled Bedding.

1 May

When my son moved into his bed for the first time I needed to get some him proper, grown up bedding. A duvet,  pillow and the covers to go with them.

I saw a couple of sets  in a well-known mother and baby catalogue and just couldn’t resist buying them. I spent a lot of money on that bedding. Way more than I would consider spending now, but as first time Mother’s we have all been there. I remember spending stupid money on a changing bag, yet with Liv I just used a pretty polka dot shopper or a large handbag. Live and learn.

Anyway! It seemed such a shame that after only a couple of years this beautiful bedding was no longer of any use as The Bo was moving into a single bed.

2013-03-28 14.22.01

I didn’t want it going into the cupboard to wait for the moths to eat holes into it, so I decided to upcycle it into something that might be useful to someone else.

Old bedding and old curtains are an amazing source of cheap fabric. Whenever I am in a charity shop it is one of the first things I look through. It is even better when the fabric is just sitting at home right under your nose.

I decided to make a little baby boys set which would include bunting, a cushion and a mini quilt.

2013-05-01 12.31.50

The only things that I needed to buy were some bias binding in white and navy and some wadding. The cushion pad I already had, but you can get them from ikea for a couple of pounds.

The cushion cover was simply two panels of fabric sewn right sides together, turned right side out and slip stitched once the cushion pad was put in.

The bunting again was very simple, just stitching two triangle pieces of fabric right sides together, trimming and turning through. Then machine stitching all the bunting panels to a strip of bias binding. Done!

It was the first time I have ever tried to make a proper quilt. The first part was very straight forward. I hand stitched the panels just the way mother taught me, using pieces of card. I then machine stitched my quilt sandwich together. It was the binding of the quilt that I was worried about, particularly getting nice, neat corners. I followed this excellent tutorial by Old Red Barn Co http://oldredbarnco.blogspot.co.uk/2009/06/quilt-along-week-7.html and got beautiful mitred corners first attempt. No sweating, no swearing, no throwing my toys out of the pram.

2013-05-01 13.09.20

I finished by invisible stitching the back of the quilt to the binding and I have to say I am really pleased with my first quilt.

2013-05-01 19.13.15

It would make a pretty little set for a new baby’s nursery.

I am going to do the same with his other duvet cover which has a diggers and lorry’s theme, and I am eyeing my Liv’s up for when she moves on to a big bed.

8 Responses to “Something Old to Something New.Upcycled Bedding.”

  1. Clare May 1, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Brilliant Hannah – I’m so pleased I passed some useful tips onto you but you have so much more to pass back to your dear old mum 🙂

  2. Crafts on Sea May 4, 2013 at 6:21 pm #

    Oh that looks gorgeous! I keep trying to start quilting but umm… I’m not the worlds most patient person 😉

    • hannahblythin May 5, 2013 at 7:45 am #

      Thankyou.
      Start small, that’s what I have done. Maybe try making a quilt for a dolls bed or pram? That way it won’t take long to see the fruits of your work.
      Good luck!

  3. hodgepodgecraft June 25, 2013 at 8:36 pm #

    These are lovely – well done! I especially love the quilt 🙂

    • hannahblythin June 25, 2013 at 8:39 pm #

      Thankyou 🙂 That was my first attempt. I Really enjoyed doing it!

      • hodgepodgecraft June 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

        I think you’ve done a great job – looks very professional!

  4. lemonadebudget1 July 3, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

    This is absolutely beautiful. I must really learn how to sew 🙂
    http://lemonadebudget.com

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

upcycling, sewing, crafting, with a care for the precious world we live in

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

