Craft Carnage and Cakes

24 Apr

2013-04-24 10.15.03

It is day four of Pox Gate and I think we are all losing our tiny minds.

Yesterday we were able to go out in the garden and enjoy the sunshine but today has not been so kind.

We have some thankyou notes to write so I thought it would be a nice idea to make them. Out came the glue, the fabric scraps, buttons, scissors and old birthday cards.

My son asked if he could have the glitter. Not today (not ever if I can help it). He seemed disappointed, but that was that.

Then from the corner of my eye I saw a cloud of emerald-green glitter explode into the atmosphere and my heart literally sank into my shoes.

I HATE GLITTER! There I have said it. Phew! I feel so much better now.

Give me paint, glue, batter or gravy any day of the week. That can be cleaned up. But glitter is evil stuff. It gets everywhere and is impossible, IMPOSSIBLE to clean up. You find it months and years down the line in random places just winking at you , mocking you.

Anyway moving on.

I decided that a better activity would be to bake some muffins. So I had a rumage around the cupboards and fruit bowl to see what we could use.  I found a forlorn looking lime and the end of a packet of desiccated coconut.

So here is my Lime and Coconut muffin recipe.

2013-04-24 12.56.40

115g butter

225g caster sugar

2 eggs

190g self-raising flour

50g desiccated coconut (I only had 35g but still worked well)

Zest of two limes (I only had one but in the house but two would be better)

1tsp baking powder

125ml milk

Pre heat the oven to 180 c. Cream the butter and sugar together and then beat in the eggs and milk. Mix all you dry ingredients and lime zest into a bowl and then gradually fold it into the mixture. Place into muffin cases and bake for around 20 mins.

When they had cooled I mixed the lime juice with a little icing sugar and drizzled over the cakes.

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

