Mod Podge Coasters

22 Apr

2013-04-19 16.18.58

I bought my first pot of Mod Podge weeks ago (I know! I always was a late starter),  but I have been a bit worried about using it on any large projects or wasting good materials by making a mess. So I though I would start small and see how I got on.

I really like the idea of using fabrics in ways other than sewing so thought I’d try glueing it instead.

I took a little trip to my local charity shop and picked up these rather unlovely coasters pictured above. Having only cost 50p I decided that these little beaut’s would be my first Mod Podge experiment.

The first thing I realised was that my choice of fabric,  though pretty and vintage was thin and the original pattern on the coaster would end up showing through. I took a look in the cellar to see what I could find.

A tin of White undercoat was just the ticket to kill off the original pattern. Once that had well and truly dried I cut out circles of fabric and Mod Podged them onto the coasters, making sure that there was plenty of the glue around the edges. I used a dry paint brush to smooth the fabric and ensure there was no creasing or bubbling.

I hoovered and dusted the whole of the downstairs, cleaned the bathroom and had a nice cup of tea whilst the glue dried and then I gave the top a thick coat of Mod Podge to seal, trimming and sanding the edges lightly once dry.

2013-04-22 07.59.45

The result is quite sweet and would make a nice little gift for someone.

The only thing I am not too happy about is the slightly grainy texture of the surface. Maybe someone will have some suggestion as to how to remedy this. I thought I might give it a coat of varnish. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

upcycling, sewing, crafting, with a care for the precious world we live in

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

