What to Wear?

13 Mar

image

I love a Wedding. It is such a great excuse to catch up with old friends and hit the dance floor. The Bride always looks beautiful, the mothers always cry and the speeches are always priceless.

Being a guest has always felt like a sartorial nightmare. I have spent a lot of time, money and energy trying desperately to get it right and look appropriate. With varying degrees of success.

The Chinese style dress was always a safe option and got wheeled out for several weddings. I had a beautiful silk shirt dress which got a couple of outings.

However the strapless bootylicious dress was probably a mistake.

Having babies seemed to make me completely lose the plot. Somehow you lose your sense of self and your shape has changed so you no longer know what suits you.

I did wear a dress that flattered my new curves to my brothers wedding. I felt happy in that.

But when I squeezed myself into my pre pregnancy safe option for a wedding it didn’t go so well. I was slinking around the drinks reception in my safe dress and control pants feeling pretty pleased with myself (and Breathless) when an absolute peach of a woman asked me if I was expecting.

#note to self, just because you can zip it up doesn’t mean you should wear it. And this is no longer your safe dress!

So at the next wedding I went completely the other way and trundled off looking like a cross between the Queen and Camilla at the Royal wedding.

This time around I decided I was just not going to stress about it. I randomly found some fab orange trousers in the sale at H&M for £5. They just needed to have the length altered.

So it was a trip round to Mum’s for some guidance. I really just wanted her to watch me cut them which is always the scary part. I managed to get them cut with no sharp intakes of breath and finished the slip stitching off at home.

To my relief both legs were the same length but who would be looking that closely anyway?

I paired up my trousers with shirt, shoes and bag that I already owned and it turned out to be the most comfortable and cheapest outfit I have ever worn to a wedding. I could sit, stand and dance easily.

The wedding was lovely. Everyone scrubbed up well and it is always a pleasure to catch up with old friends. Eat, drink and throw a few shapes.

One Response to “What to Wear?”

  1. Clare March 18, 2013 at 11:27 pm #

    I thoroughly enjoyed another installment. I was visualising every word. Very entertaining.
    Mum xx

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

