Answers On A Postcard Please

27 Feb

image

I discovered a little pop up vintage shop yesterday and decided to duck in to have a little mooch. Unfortunately Liv had other ideas and before I got a chance to look at anything we had to duck out again for a loo stop.

This morning I was child free so I thought I would take the opportunity to pop in for a proper look. The shop is tiny but full to the brim with little treasures. There was an old Singer sewing machine, a heavy tweed cape and a beautiful 1960’s Portmeirion Pottery Coffee set in Black and Orange that caught my eye.

The other thing that caught my eye was this mid 20th century style coffee table. I loved it especially as it has no sharp edges (handy with small children).

I asked how much it was and was told £15, which I think was a fair price but I thought I would be cheeky and see if she would take £12. She did. Deal Done. And moments later I was walking through the door with a coffee table.

Now the question is what should I do (if anything to it). It is a little battered and scarred and like me it is not getting any younger. Should I let it wear its age and experience with pride? Or (like me on a night out) should I slap on the war paint and pretend it is all new and shiny?

Answers on a postcard please!

2 Responses to “Answers On A Postcard Please”

  1. Jean Eames March 22, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    Hi Hannah – I’ve only just come to your blog, so may be too late with this suggestion for your coffee table. If you have access to cigarette ash, blend it with (Ithink) olive oil and rub it into the scratched wood. Grandma xx

    • hannahblythin March 24, 2013 at 9:21 am #

      Thankyou. I might have to give that tip a go. X

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

upcycling, sewing, crafting, with a care for the precious world we live in

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

