Conkers Shells, Elbows and Empty Picture Frames

24 Feb

image

I have been in the process of re decorating some of the downstairs rooms and I needed pictures to put on the walls.

Our walls have been pretty much empty since 2007 apart from my weird habit of putting up picture frames with no pictures in. I always plan to eventually put family photo’s in the frames but never seem to get round to the sorting and printing part.

As I’m sure you can imagine this drives Mr B and particularly my friend Mrs H absolutely bonkers.

I think out of sheer desperation Mrs H offered to take us all into the woods and shoot us (with her rather snazzy digital camera). She is a talented amateur photographer amongst other things and she took lots of beautiful pictures of the Blythins.

I’m not sure how she managed it to be honest. Liv decided that she wasn’t going to walk after about 10 minutes and The Bo had a fit over all the conker shells and refused to walk until they had all been swept out of his path. (Diva).

A week or so later after much tinkering and cropping Mrs H presented me with a CD of lovely photos and I was spoilt for choice. Eventually I chose three portrait style pictures and scuttled off to Boots to get them printed.

That was in November. They have sat in an envelope ever since just waiting for this lazy lady to get them lovingly framed and put up. Mrs H was not impressed.
Well three months down the line and today I decided must be the day. So it was off to the big, blue Scandi box that is Ikea.

I prevaricated. I picked up a throw, an abacus, some mini plates for decorating and a lamp shade needs to be returned. We had coffee and cake. I looked at fabric and accidentally elbowed a lady in the head. I put it off.

There is something about buying picture frames that I find really stressful. They never seem to make them in the same size as the photos. It shouldn’t be this hard! Exasperated I picked three lovely black frames and decided that whatever else happened I would make them fit.

I turns out that as usual I overcomplicated things and I didn’t lose as much of the pictures as I had feared. They look lovely.

Putting up pictures has always been a problem for me as I can never seem to get them straight. That is until I found a great tip on a Blog called Centsational Girl. It is so simple and easy that it makes you slap your forehead say “Why didn’t I think of that”. All I needed to do was cut out templates of the frames, marking on where the hole needs to be. Then I stuck it to the wall and played about with them until I was happy. Once I decided that they were where I wanted them, I took a deep breath and hammered a tack through the X that marked the spot. And Voila! Straight pictures and no extra holes to patch up.

So I have beautiful family photos hung on my walls at a fraction of the price of professional ones.

Mrs H will be pleased.

Leave a Reply

LouBou

MILTON KEYNES GIRL

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

