The great bureau makeover

19 Feb

image

image

image

The Children were staying at their Grandparents for a couple of nights which meant that it was my chance to get some decorating done.

I have a lovely bureau that had been given to us by Mr B’s parents when we moved in. The only problem was that it was so dark that it sucked the light out of every corner that we put it in. A makeover has been long overdue.

I have never done up any furniture before so this was all new to me.
Now I know that Annie Sloan paints are a big thing in furniture painting world but being the thrifty lady I am I couldn’t really justify paying for the paint, the wax and the special waxing brush that would be required. Instead I raided that cellar and found sandpaper and waterbased primer and I was off.
I gave the wood a rough sanding down all over before giving it a good clean with warm, soapy water.

I got Mr B to help me to put the bureau on some paint pots so that I could get to the bottom and began to give it a coat of primer. Whilst this was drying I treated myself to a cup of tea and the trundled off to B&Q in search of Eggshell paint and new handles. I chose to go for Craig & Ross Eggshell paint in Morris Blue, found some very simple antique bronze handles and it was back home to get cracking.

It took two coats of the paint and I have plenty left. The next morning once it was all completely dry I put on the new handles and used some sandpaper to rough it up a little (not too much, I don’t like over distressed furniture). I am really pleased with my first attempt at giving old furniture a new life and would absolutely do it again.

I had to have a good sort out of all the stuff that I had taken out of the Bureau before I painted it. I am amazed at what rubbish we keep. It was like Micheal McIntyre’s man drawer. Full of non descript wires that we were too frightened to throw away in case we needed them. I found a box full of keys, most of which we have no idea what they unlock. There were empty cheque books and old notebooks and diaries.

Now I am a big fan of notebooks which I fill with weekly menus, shopping lists and little reminders to myself plus I use it to vent on the odd occasion. So it was really quite funny, sweet and poignent reading back through these pages of scribbles.

I found a blow by blow, minute by minute account of my first babies activities when I was deperately trying to get him into a routine. I found some of my workings out from when I had been watching countdown during nap time.

Then there were the lists. Lists of things to get before my second baby made an entry. My home birth check list. The list I wrote for Mr B when he went on a business trip to India which consisted of immodium, Dioralyte and anti bacterial hand gel. I found lists of potential girls and boys names and ways to turn a breach baby. I also found Mr B’s notes of my contractions length and time in between.

Sadly I also found a note of Grandfathers hospital bed phone number (he died not long after Livs birth). I found the draft of a letter I wrote to my Grandmother after Grandad died and some insane rants from my sleep deprived past self.

Having spent way longer than I should reading through these rambling notes and lists, I have decided they are to good to throw away. They bring back so many memories both good and bad.

They will however be going in the loft and not in the Bureau.

Leave a Reply

LouBou

Lifestyle • Culture • PR • Dan Schaffer

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and crafting with my kids

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Vintage Frills

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The Mummy Whisperer Blog

Helping Mums Enjoy Being A Mum

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

