Raspberry and Blueberry Jam

20 Aug

The weather was good and we were looking for something cheap and fun to do in the afternoon.

I remember as children almost every year we would go to our local pick your own fruit farm (or whatever they are called). We used to pick baskets and baskets of fruit. Then Mum would freeze batches for future pavlovas and flans and the rest she would make beautiful jams.

So we decided to take a little meander in that direction and check it out.

We got there a little late and only had half an hour before they were closing. But that gave us plenty of time to get stuck into the raspberry bushes.

2013-08-18 15.47.17

The Bo had made a fuss on the way about not wanting to go, but once he got his basket there was no stopping our little cibophobic. In fact we almost had to drag him away.

The children managed somehow to pick exactly a Kilo of raspberries which came to the grand total of £5. I think that was fairly good value.

I thought I would make some jam with our bounty which could be saved for gifts in the future.

I have a cupboard full of empty jars. I never throw them away as you never know when they will come in handy. And I have plenty of ribbon and fabric for pimping up said jars.

Making jam is so easy but raspberry is in particular, as you only need to use normal granulated sugar, so no need to go rushing out to buy preserving/jam sugar.

All you need is an equal weight of fruit to sugar, a squeeze of lemon juice and a knob of butter. Oh and a saucer in the freezer!

I had some blueberries going spare in the fridge so I just added them to the fruit and popped them in a pan.

2013-08-19 10.41.22

I gave them a light mash and cooked them gently until they started to soften.

Then I added my sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice and heated it gently until the sugar dissolved,  then added a knob of butter.

2013-08-19 10.53.31

After this I turned up the heat and boiled it for approx 30 mins.

To check if the jam is ready I took my saucer from the freezer and spooned a little of the mixture on. Then ran my finger through it. If it wrinkled it was ready.

Once my jam was ready, using a jug I poured it into my pre sterilised jars. (This is where baby microwave sterilisers can come in really handy), popped the lids on, and once cooled added labels and pretty fabric tops.

2013-08-20 09.32.12

For £5 and an afternoons entertainment we have created five little gifts for the future.

2 Responses to “Raspberry and Blueberry Jam”

  1. Kate @Crafts on Sea August 21, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    This looks brilliant! I always imagined that making jam would be really complicated?? Will have to give it a try :)

    • hannahblythin August 21, 2013 at 11:30 am #

      Thanks. The children love it too.
      I will be Blackberry picking soon, so watch out for the blackberry version (with jam sugar).

      Give it a go. If I can do it then it can’t be complicated ;-)

Leave a Reply

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and making stuff

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

Handmade recycled bags

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Mummy Whisperer's Blog

Bringing back the sparkle & contentment to Mums lives

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

Craft it. Bake it.

Baking Recipes and Craft Ideas

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

