Guest Post – Misadventures in Silversmithing

15 Jul

Todays post is bought to you by the lovely Kate from Crafts on Sea http://craftsonsea.co.uk/

I got to know her through twitter and her lovely blog. She has been really great and supportive.

So without further ado, over to you Kate.

When I first started blogging, just over a year ago, I didn’t really know much about it. Truth be told, I think I’d only ever read one or two blog posts so the whole world of linkys, blog hops, follow or no follow, twitter, google+ and all that jazz was way beyond my understanding.
What I did know was that I was back at work after maternity leave and feeling a bit meh about it all. I’d returned to work to find my job had changed, all the bits I loved had been given to other people, leaving me with a role that, quite frankly, bored me. I needed something new to keep my brain functioning about things other than nappy sizes and bedroom temperatures and so Crafts on Sea was born.
The slight issue, of course, is that I am not classically trained in any craft. Umm, nope. My degree is in English which essentially means that I can read a book without adult supervision, so writing a craft blog meant that I was actually going to have to learn some crafts. After flicking through some blogs on the Mumsnet Bloggers network I came across Hybrid Handmade (http://hybridhandmade.blogspot.co.uk/) a gorgeous blog in which Cari showcases her wonderful silversmithing skills. I wanted to do a crafts
Blog, I found a silversmithing course at the local adult ed. Life was sweet.
image (4)
And life was fairly sweet, but perhaps not in ways that I’d planned. Silversmithing is actually pretty hard work! And heck it’s expensive too! Have you ever bought silver bullion before? It’s not exactly one to get you on the right side of your bank manager. I always imagined that silversmithing would be something where you get so spend a lot of time soldering, flame in one hand, metal in the other. Actually you spend more time polishing and filing. It would probably appeal more to people who like doing their nails.
image (2)
image
I made some bits, wore them, sold a couple of bits here and there and then earlier this year I was made redundant. In some ways is wasn’t a big deal, I’d lost the love for my job anyway but I also fell pregnant pretty much the same week and it’s unsurprisingly tricky to get another job when your protruding belly shows from day one! So I tried selling some more, took commissions and strangely, by strangers likeing what I did, by giving me money for it, I started to fall a little out of love with it.
Yes, there were issues, me being me means that every time I sell something I then instantly lose it. Seriously. Or I go to ‘improve’ it and melt it in half. Another couple of hours down the drain.
image (3)
So really, what I’ve found is that I do like making things, I really do and it’s opened a lot of avenues and opportunities for me, but that unlike some other craft bloggers I don’t do my blog to try and sell what I do, I blog to keep sane, to keep busy, and to try and encourage others to do something other than just sit in front of the tv every night. I think I’m a craft blogger, I hope I am. But I’m not sure that I’m a proper craft salesperson yet.
Leave a Reply

Served by Seven

Quick, easy and affordable weeknight cooking for busy people

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and making stuff

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

Handmade recycled bags

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Mummy Whisperer's Blog

Bringing back the sparkle & contentment to Mums lives

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

butwhymummywhy

honest lifestyle blog of a mum to two headstrong girls

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

Craft it. Bake it.

Baking Recipes and Craft Ideas

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

