What Could Possibly Go Wrong?!!

5 May

So I had my first ever shift as a proper waitress yesterday.

I dressed the part. Black shirt, black skirt, ponytail and sunny smile.

There was an event on and I was very nervous. But also relieved to learn that all I had to do was hand out drinks and canape’s.

I had been worrying all week about what could happen. You know the usual sort of thing. Spilling, smashing ,dropping, tripping, slipping. I think they were all natural, rational worries. “It’ll be absolutely fine” everyone told me and underneath it all I knew it would be. I’m 32 years old. I could handle this.

The guests of honour arrived and gradually the room filled up. I handed out drinks and circulated the room with plates of beautifully prepared canapes.

Everything went really well, people were lovely, friendly and jovial.

I was enjoying it and getting quite confident carrying various types of plates and trays.

Mistake!

Next up was beetroot gazpacho in shot glasses on a plate….on a plate!

I don’t know what happened next, all I remember was looking down and in horrific slow motion the shot glasses started to slide on the plate and there was nothing I could do to stop it. It was like the scene from a horror movie and I was utterly and completely mortified. I apologised profusely to everyone and wished the ground would swallow me up. I stood there rooted to the spot  looking at my hand trying to work out if it was blood or Beetroot

I then tried to clean up the area, but like Bambi on ice I was slip-sliding. How I didn’t end up on my backside covered in red stuff I will never know.

At this point I did feel my lower lip quiver and for a split second I thought I might cry, but I had a word with myself, cleaned myself and the area up and got back out there in true British stiff upper lip style. I smiled, I served, I took away empties and I didn’t go anywhere near any of those shot glasses.

Everyone was so sweet, and a couple of very lovely guests came up to me separately  and told me not to worry, which nearly set me off. But I managed to get through to then end as though the incident had never happened. I think this is an achievement in itself. Isn’t it ?? If I look at it that way it is not quite so crushing.

Please don’t leave me hanging, I cannot be the only person with toe curling experiences. I would love to hear them (mainly to make me feel better).

Leave a Reply

ShabbyShe

I like upcycling, repurposing and making stuff

Ladybird Lab

Where creativity happens... Homemade cupcakes, cards & treats

Pepperbox Couture

Reduce, reuse, recycle - the sustainable design style

Backpacking Bums

Track Our Travels ...

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

Fashion, Beauty and Lifestyle with a Vintage Twist

vicky myers creations

Handmade recycled bags

iprefercakestopeople

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Mummy Whisperer's Blog

Bringing back the sparkle & contentment to Mums lives

The Polished Button

vintage inspired sewing...

Bluebird Vintage

Granny chic for modern living - bluebirdvintage@outlook.com

That Spencer Bloke, @ADadCalledSpen

Not a writer or a journalist, just a father with two amazing children. I blog about stuff.

Craft It Bake It

A Craft, Baking, & Lifestyle Blog

But why mummy why?

Tales of daughter raising, vintage loving, [crap at] crafting, music listening, film watching and wine quaffing!

Craft it. Bake it.

Baking Recipes and Craft Ideas

Purse Full of Pennies

Second-hand gems, charity shop finds and venerable vintage

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

